Parkway Drive - Atlas

Rating

single starsingle starsingle starsingle starhalf star

RIYL

Unearth
August Burns Red
The Ghost Inside
As I Lay Dying

Release Date

10/26/2012

Label

Epitaph

Tracklist

1."Sparks"
2."Old Ghosts/New Regrets"
3."Dream Run"
4."Wild Eyes"
5."Dark Days"
6."The River"
7."Swing"
8."The Slow Surrender"
9."Atlas"
10."Sleight of Hand"
11."Snake Oil and Holy Water"
12."Blue and The Grey"

Users Rating

single starsingle starsingle starhalf star
11 ratings

Your Rating

Create an account or log in to rate this album

Recent Ratings

Within the last few years I’ve stepped away from heavier music in general. Some could say I fell off, some could say I’m just a bitter old man. Whatever. It is what it is. However, in 2010 when I first started to fall off the grid, one band brought me back in with a release that blew me away. That band? Parkway Drive. The release? Deep Blue. Fast forward two years to the present day and I’m in the same boat I was then, paddling around aimlessly looking for some sort of musical rescue. I'm again bored with all of the newer metal and hardcore releases and extremely jaded. That is, I was, until those same Aussies that saved my head banging life a few years prior released a single from their upcoming release, Atlas. I listened to “Dark Days” about 87 times the first day the video hit the web. I was beside myself. Could this band really be doing it again? Could they be turning this bitter old man into a believer yet again? The answer my internet friends and foes, is yes.

Atlas starts off with the Medieval flavored intro “Sparks” which sets the stage for an onslaught of neck-breaking riffs and mind-shattering drum work. Once you hear Winston McCall belt out, “I’m the same bad news as you. You’re the same kind of fucked as me,” you know that you’re in for one hell of a musical ride that spans almost fifty minutes. Once “Sparks” abruptly ends, you’re expecting the following track “Old Ghosts/ New Regrets” to pick up right where it left off, but it doesn't. Instead, you immediately hear the classic Parkway Drive guitar tone and begin to embrace all that is metalcore in this “apocalyptic” year. “Old Ghosts/ New Regrets” really prepares you for everything this album offers, lyrically and musically.

Tracks four through six are by far the three best tracks on the album. Starting off this triple threat is “Wild Eyes.” Don’t get all up in arms about this statement, but “Wild Eyes” might be the greatest metalcore song ever written. With its Iron Maiden-like chants and methodically placed crunching guitar tones, it sure is a spine chiller. Next is the first single to be released off Atlas, “Dark Days.” This track starts off a tad sluggish but, holy shit, if you don’t think the last minute and a half is one of the sickest solo-to-breakdowns ever, then you can come to PA and fight me. Smash face. “The River” starts off as one of Parkway Drive’s fundamentally harmonious tracks but ends up being more than just that. You end up hearing some beautifully female-sung clean vocals which is not something you ordinarily hear on a Parkway Drive album.

“The Slow Surrender” threw me off at first. It’s really… well, weird initially, but then it opens up to a smooth-grooving track... then ends up getting, well, weird again! For whatever reason, the gents in Parkway Drive saw it fit to add some scratches into the mix. Yes, like a turntable scratch. Theoretically this sounds like a terrible decision but honestly, it works! This album is full of surprises and they don’t stop with the scratches. The album’s title track ends up offering a string orchestra! “Blue and the Grey” is the album closer and it’s for good measure they chose that track to do so, for it is the battle hymn that accompanies the intro track. Unremitting, vicious and melodic are just a few ways to describe the end to what is one hell of a musical journey.

I’m sure the Decoy “sharks” will attack this review and album like blood in the water but honestly, it doesn’t even matter. This is THE metalcore album of the year. Parkway Drive put themselves in a tier of modern heavy music that not many others are matching. It takes a lot for a band to stay consistent and still add a few extras in with each new album to stay fresh and maintain a following that is steadily growing each day. Let it be known that any other metalcore album or band you thought were at the top of your list before this are now bumped back at least one spot.

--Bill Lohr

Author

Bill Lohr
Last updated: 09/19/2012 12:51PM

Comments

Kristopher Ray
09/19/2012
03:20PM

I have been waiting for this since there were rumor surfacing of the new album, then the "Dark Days" video was released, and I, same as you Bill, played it repeatedly, and it only makes the wait so much harder...

tannerbnd
09/19/2012
05:24PM
Age: 34
Location
Staunton, Va

The Ghost Inside has my spot for metalcore album of the year, so I hope this can beat that!

Bayside
Devil you Know
Manchester Orchestra
Fireworks
Chiodos

Kristopher Ray
09/19/2012
05:39PM
tannerbnd

The Ghost Inside has my spot for metalcore album of the year, so I hope this can beat that!

that album was dope as hell though, but I can see Parkway Drive knocking it out of the park

Nick Senior
09/20/2012
05:37AM
Age: 28
Location
Ellicott City, MD

Well shit, Bill, I want to listen to this now.  The only metalcore album that's really hit home with me all year has been This or the Apocalypse. 

Currently Listening To:

Fallujah- The Flesh Prevails
Wovenwar- S/T
Within the Ruins- Phenomena

Bill Lohr
09/20/2012
06:26AM
Age: 30
Location
Lehigh Valley, PA
deucemon2
09/21/2012
10:56AM
Age: 34
Location
San Diego

Going to have to disagree on The Ghost Inside's newest, lacks the punch the last 2 albums had.  This review has definitely peaked my interest for this release, hopefully it doesn't take as long to grow on me as the last Maylene album.

"I never took the game home with me. I always left it in some bar."

- Bob Lemon

Dylan Newell
09/22/2012
01:17PM
Age: 24
Location
Illinois

interesting.  i've been hearing pretty good things about this album elsewhere too.  i just wasn't a huge fan of deep blue, but i'm hoping this is better.

new TGI was good for a week or two for me.  i mean i liked it, but it lacked some oomph that would keep my interests like their previous cds.

last.fm/user/tragedyl0ve
twitter.com/1000cleverlines
1000cleverlines.tumblr.com

Mike Duchnowsky
09/22/2012
02:45PM
Age: 30
Location
West Haven, CT

Here in the great year of 2002 this stuff kills!! I wonder what music will sound like in another ten years?

Fuckings Greatest Hits: 2013 |2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008

I'll take no gold miss,
I'll take no silver
I'll take those sweet lips,
And I'll deliver.

Bill Lohr
09/24/2012
05:22AM
Age: 30
Location
Lehigh Valley, PA

Oh whatttayaknow, Mike D and Adjective have shitty ratings (-__-)

Sonnambulanaut
09/27/2012
09:09AM
Age: 30
Location
Salt Lake City, UT

We have better taste in music than you do, Bill. Get with the fucking program.

buck09
09/27/2012
09:43AM
Age: 33
Location
Reno, NV
adjective

We have better taste in music than you do, Bill. Get with the fucking program.

Coming from the person in love with "Swans" which blows donkey dick. I hope someone with good taste does a review for you and totally demolishes that steamy pile of pretentious cat shit!

Sonnambulanaut
09/27/2012
10:48AM
Age: 30
Location
Salt Lake City, UT

Most things I say to you are in jest but I'm flabbergasted by this but I suppose it makes sense since all you listen to are bands that recycle the same riffs they stole from Black Sabbath, Wino, Melvins and Kyuss.

Bill Lohr
09/27/2012
11:56AM
Age: 30
Location
Lehigh Valley, PA
adjective

Most things I say to you are in jest but I'm flabbergasted by this but I suppose it makes sense since all you listen to are bands that recycle the same riffs they stole from Black Sabbath, Wino, Melvins and Kyuss.

The sad thing is, is you haven't even listened to this yet. You're just a dickhead for the sake of being a dickhead. Like in the BTBAM thread when I said "it's just the internet" and you said it's just an excuse. You just pulled the same fuckin thing dude. "it's just in jest". 
Pick your battles, man. 

Nicholas
09/27/2012
12:48PM
Age: 33
Location
Baton Rouge

Decoy lately:
Photobucket

Bill Lohr
09/27/2012
01:06PM
Age: 30
Location
Lehigh Valley, PA

I know someone who has that tattooed on their back. 

Sonnambulanaut
09/27/2012
05:14PM
Age: 30
Location
Salt Lake City, UT

I know someone who doesn't have that tattooed on their back.

powell.ad
09/30/2012
06:39AM
Age: 25
Location
Sunshine Coast, Australia

Adjective! say you hate it because it's Australian. 

"If you want something done right, get a fucking Australian band to do it" - Chris Cheney

Sonnambulanaut
09/30/2012
08:28PM
Age: 30
Location
Salt Lake City, UT

I hate you.

Bill Lohr
10/22/2012
05:13AM
Age: 30
Location
Lehigh Valley, PA

now that this seems to be on the web, hopefully people come back and weigh in on their opinions 

buck09
10/22/2012
11:45AM
Age: 33
Location
Reno, NV

Very Solid! Definitely far above average in the metalcore category, which I've grown out of lately as well.

leightonsmith
10/23/2012
01:40AM

I dig it!

Kristopher Ray
10/23/2012
08:13AM

I streamed the hell out of this! http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=YRqvXjmu4Oc loving every second of it, definatly my album of the year