Haste The Day - When Everything Falls

Rating

single starsingle starhalf star

RIYL

Zao
Atreyu
Underoath
The Agony Scene

Release Date

06/28/2005

Label

Solid State

Tracklist

1. Fallen
2. The Perfect Night
3. Walkon
4. When Everything Falls
5. If I Could See
6. Walls And Fear
7. For A Lifetime
8. This Time It's Real
9. Bleed Alone
10. InstruMETAL
11. All I Have
12. Long Way Down

Users Rating

single starsingle starsingle starhalf star
2 ratings

Your Rating

Create an account or log in to rate this album

Recent Ratings

Does every moderately successful metalcore band have to water down their “breakout” albums in order to appeal more to the Hot Topic, teenie-bopper crowd? Atreyu did it with The Curse. Norma Jean did it with O God, the Aftermath. Every Time I Die sounds like they’re going to do it with Gutter Phenomenon. Really it should be no surprise that Haste the Day would follow the trend and mellow out on When Everything Falls.

Sure, Haste the Day still sound like Zao, Atreyu, The Agony Scene, and Evergreen Terrace in a blender on liquefy, but instead of that being a good thing, as it has in the past, it doesn’t come out quite as well this time, probably because of the lack of Zao and The Agony Scene influence and a lot more Atreyu copycatting. There are moments on this cd when you can almost swear that you are listening to something from Atreyu’s current musical output or that you are hearing a bizarre version of Underoath that uses death metal growls in place of screams. Listen to “If I Could See” or “Fallen” and try to tell me that you can’t hear the influences.

Even with the newfound focus on melody and trendy, over-produced guitar licks, these guys can still rip shit up with the best of them. Listening to the pummeling breakdown choruses on “Walls & Fear” or the bridge on “This Time It’s Real” will reassure longtime fans that the old Haste the Day that was more concerned with brutality and making your ears bleed is still there, just in a new glossy form.

Now getting back on track about why this album isn’t as good as it could be… there is definitely a lack of quality guitar solo riffs like those found on Burning Bridges. Along with that, another thing that has been missing, since even before then, is the intricate song structures that were a staple on their debut EP, That They May Know You, which was easily their best work with everything since having been on a downhill progression and coming off as too streamlined.

Interestingly enough, one thing that will probably get Haste the Day a lot of attention is the inclusion of a cover of the Goo Goo Dolls’ “Long Way Down”. When I saw it in the tracklisting, I couldn’t wait to see how they would turn a mediocre pop-rock song into a metalcore anthem. Well, I’m still waiting. They hardly give the song a makeover other than by adding a few background screams which, by the way, are mixed in so low they’re almost inaudible. Other than those few screams, it’s a pretty basic cover of the song, which is just unacceptable.

Yet once again, a metalcore band has found themselves polishing up their sound, mellowing out, and leaving behind their strengths in order to try to make a splash into the mainstream of the genre. That doesn’t necessarily make this a bad cd, but in comparison to Haste the Day’s previous output, this disc definitely falls short.

--Rick Gebhardt

Author

Rick Gebhardt
Last updated: 09/29/2009 08:53PM

Comments

Jared Mehle
07/07/2005
01:34PM
Age: 32
Location
Minneapolis, MN
I can't agree with everything said here. I have been hooked on this band for a very long time. I thought That They May Know you was a bit scattered and not quite focused enough. Burning Bridges however cured all of that I thought the band had put together a great album.

This time around, there does seem to be something missing. There's not as much of an edge and a whole lot more melody. While When Everything Falls is good in it's own light, I can't put it on the same pedestal with Burning Bridges. I definately would not go as far as saying they are Atreyu wannabe's though.
M.J.Austin
07/07/2005
03:30PM
Location
Dallas, Texas
This CD sucks, and the review isn't much better.

Compared to the author’s past efforts, it’s amateurishly written.
tim
07/07/2005
04:00PM
Age: 30
Location
Green Brook, NJ
funny, i thought this was probably one of the best reviews rick has ever done. go figure.
Rick Gebhardt
07/07/2005
04:06PM
Age: 33
Location
Minnesota
Holy shit, did we relaunch into Bizarro-Decoy? Tim actually praising one of my reviews while someone else thinks it's amateur. Isn't it usually the other way around? :)

Find me EVERYWHERE:




aaron
07/07/2005
04:55PM
Age: 32
Location
Atascadero, CA
i actually really like this album... true its too polished and clean and a far cry from their previous efforts, i still think this cd is going to catch on with a lot of people thus making Haste The Day another Solid State band everyone knows.

Decoymusic.com (CEO/Founder)
Blue Reef Design Studios (Web Development)
http://aarontroy.tumblr.com

Rick Gebhardt
07/07/2005
05:43PM
Age: 33
Location
Minnesota
I guess after rereading my review, I did trash it quite a bit. I didn't mean to make it sound like this cd is a pile of shit, because it isn't, but it's not nearly up to par for these guys when you look at what they've already done.

Find me EVERYWHERE:




aaron
07/07/2005
06:13PM
Age: 32
Location
Atascadero, CA
i didnt like the last album too much, maybe thats why i like this.

Decoymusic.com (CEO/Founder)
Blue Reef Design Studios (Web Development)
http://aarontroy.tumblr.com

ledesordre
07/08/2005
12:00AM
Location
QC
not a huge fan of the album. some songs are decent, but its pretty boring. i agree that they have been going downhill since their first release, that ep, that they may know you.
yermaum
07/08/2005
05:52PM
rmgebhardt
Holy shit, did we relaunch into Bizarro-Decoy? Tim actually praising one of my reviews while someone else thinks it's amateur. Isn't it usually the other way around? :)


HAH!!! You get points just for referencing Sealab! BIZARRO!
cloudscollide
07/11/2005
08:22AM
Age: 25
Location
PA
What?! if you think Norma Jean's O god the aftermath is mellowed out compared to their previous album then you have lost you mind. I don't think Haste The Day has mellowed out at all, but it's still not a great cd.
thousandjulys
07/11/2005
08:57PM
Location
Greenville, SC
Yeah I agree, how in the hell is O God the Aftermath watered down? I mean it's a different vocalist and a different style, but it's far from watered down. As far as the review at hand, a lot of people don't like all the singing, but I don't think it's too bad, nothing amazing though. I am just a sucker for melody.
Rick Gebhardt
07/18/2005
01:52PM
Age: 33
Location
Minnesota
O God the Aftermath was a lot more meandering and aimless than their debut, which might not be "mellower" exactly, but I saw it as a mellowing out with their sound.

Find me EVERYWHERE:




simply_wicked
08/14/2005
01:41AM
This cd is great. Sure they may not have topped Burning Bridges but it's easily in the same boat. I can't wait to hear what this band does in years to come. Sure they sound "similar" to Atreyu but it's no where near the extreme the reviewer implies... They have their own twist on the style and I would say their music is more melodic/structured then Atreyu's. If only they would come to Canada so I could see them live. Take my word for it listen to this band before making a judgement on this review because it seems to me the authour was biased.
Rick Gebhardt
08/14/2005
04:48AM
Age: 33
Location
Minnesota
You're right, the reviewer (me) is biased. I freakin' loved this band (and still do), but this cd was a big disappointment, especially after how good Burning Bridges was. This is an average cd at best. I hated admitting that in the review because I really like the band, but like I've said elsewhere, just because you like a band doesn't necessarily mean it's a masterpiece.

Find me EVERYWHERE:




TheMusicJunkie
08/14/2005
10:37AM
I seriously think this cd was decent. Not perfect, not awesome, not great but decent. I don't really agree with all the statements made saying how this band is 'copycating' Atreyu or even making all the comparisions to Atreyu that the reviwer did. Also the statement that was made 'Listen to “If I Could See” or “Fallen” and try to tell me that you can’t hear the influences.' all music has some sort of influence and there's a line between influence and downright copying, I don't think there was any copying here. I also don't see the comparison between HTD and Evergreen Terrace.

Yes HTD is a little different this time around and in some places its a good thing and in others, its a bad thing. You can't really blame them for changing a few things and automatically assume its to become 'mainstream'. If they played the exact same at they did on 'Burning Bridges' (which was an awesome disc by the way) then people would be saying 'oh it's exactly the same, just get burning bridges'.

There are some goods and bads here and I dont think enough of the goods were stated in ths review. I agree with the reviewer that this disc is different from their old material and 'That They May Know You' is their best work although 'Burning Bridges' is up there also. The album is decent, won't change the world, the genre or even really the band, it's just decent.

The lyrics are pretty standard for the band and so goes for the screaming to singing transition. In the end I say give it a listen, some of the new material follows the old HTD formula and keeps your head banging while other tracks will have you pressing the 'next track' button. I would certainly give this CD 3/5 rather than the 2.5/5 the reviewer gave, I just think it needs a bit more credit.
Rick Gebhardt
08/14/2005
04:36PM
Age: 33
Location
Minnesota
Well, if you look at most of my reviews, you'll see that I rarely give scores above a 3 or 3.5, so a 2.5 isn't too out of the ordinary. Unlike the majority of Decoy's reviewers, it takes a really phenomenal album to get a 4 or more from me.

Find me EVERYWHERE:




TheMusicJunkie
08/14/2005
08:58PM
rmgebhardt
Well, if you look at most of my reviews, you'll see that I rarely give scores above a 3 or 3.5, so a 2.5 isn't too out of the ordinary. Unlike the majority of Decoy's reviewers, it takes a really phenomenal album to get a 4 or more from me.


I think the score you gave was more than fair and you hit some really good points, great review overall :)