Bullet For My Valentine - The Poison

Rating

single starsingle starsingle starhalf star

RIYL

Machine Head
A Dozen Furies
Trivium
Haste the Day

Release Date

02/14/2006

Label

Trustkill

Tracklist

1. Intro
2. Her Voice Resides
3. 4 Words (To Choke Upon)
4. Tears Don't Fall
5. Suffocating Under Words Of Sorrow (What Can I Do)
6. Hit The Floor
7. All These Things I Hate (Revolve Around Me)
8. Room 409
9. Poison
10. 10 Years Today
11. Cries In Vain
12. Spit You Out
13. End

Users Rating

single starsingle starsingle star
3 ratings

Your Rating

Create an account or log in to rate this album

Recent Ratings

The music scene in Wales must be doing something right having produced notable bands such as Funeral For a Friend and Lostprophets in recent years. Also hailing from that same area, Bullet For My Valentine have crossed the Atlantic in hopes of making waves in the States.

Every once in awhile a record comes along that is just plain fun to listen to. After only a few notes it has you bouncing around the room and singing along. The Poison is exactly that. When you combine one part Trivium and one part Killswitch Engage, it's one hell of a concoction.

There's plenty of material to pump your fist to. Take “Hand of Blood” for instance. It is a prefect exhibit of Bullet For My Valentine's sound. Track two, “Her Voice Resides,” is also another highlight of the album. Lead vocalist Matthew Tuck can go from a swaggaring croon to strained growl flawlessly. The ballad “All the Things I Hate” teeters on the edge of 80's hair metal, but ends up on the right side of the fence.

For those that are familiar with Bullet For My Valentine from their EP, you will find mostly new material to inject into your ears. Frankly, I would've liked to have seen reworked versions of “Just Another Star” and “Turn To Dispair” turn up on this album. Though they would be a sure success on a re-release.

--Jared Mehle

Author

Jared Mehle
Last updated: 09/29/2009 08:54PM

Comments

lezsolt
02/10/2006
12:24PM
Age: 28
Location
Budapest, Hungary
"All These Things I Hate" is a typical emo song with a few metallic guitar parts. It has nothing to do with hair metal.
All in all, this is a really enjoyable album. Nice balance of metalcore, old school metal and emo parts.

phoekiss
02/10/2006
12:33PM
i like these guys. i wouldn't be suprsised to see these guys get some what bigger here in the states. on tour with rob zombie will help. can't wait to get my hands on this whole cd next tuesday.
lpshinobi
02/10/2006
01:06PM
Age: 25
Location
VT
The EP was very good. I'm looking forward to getting this cd.

My Top Songs of '09
The Appleseed Cast//as the little things go
Caspian//sycamore
Sunwrae//Chinook Winds
Dredg//down to the seller
If These Trees Could Talk//the sun is in the north
From Monument to Masses//an ounce of prevention
Straylight Run//i'm through with the past


LpShinobi's Post-Rock and Shoegazing Recommendation, via YouTube

Lpshinobi's Post-Rock Band, New Song Posted

Sins Of Arcadia
02/10/2006
01:38PM
Age: 30
Location
Florida, USA
Every time someone refers to this band, or any other band that has nothing to do with the genre, as emo, God kills a Penguin.

Anyway, the only track worth listening to on this album more than once is Tears Dont Fall. Just not very memorable to me. They sound like a poor man's 36 Crazyfists.
daganjatribe
02/10/2006
03:03PM
Location
Austin
the comparison to bush kinda makes me want to check them out, and btw 36 crazfists kick ass, keepin my ear open for some new shit from them

The Daily Galaxy
An elephant that never forgets...to kill!

Sins Of Arcadia
02/10/2006
03:39PM
Age: 30
Location
Florida, USA
I do believe promos for the new 36CF have been sent out, so I hope the fucker leaks soon.
Gella
02/10/2006
03:45PM
Location
Des Moines, IA
These guys do play their instruments well, but they aint nothin special.
Chris Conlan
02/11/2006
06:25AM
Age: 30
Location
Dubuque
I like this album.
gregplaysdrums
02/11/2006
05:46PM
Location
SCV, CA
this band makes me sad
Amazingthemike
02/13/2006
07:45PM
Location
Cleveland, OH
A 3.5??? They should have gotten a negative score just for the name.
Jared Mehle
02/19/2006
11:22AM
Age: 33
Location
Minneapolis, MN
I admit, I was turned off by the name at first too. They do have a very "scene-core" look too. They were sort of a guilty pleasure at first, but then I realized they do shred pretty well.
Rick Gebhardt
10/26/2006
10:09AM
Age: 33
Location
Minnesota
British metal! Yeeee-haw!

Just saw these guys in concert last week and it rekindled my man-love for this disc. Guilty pleasure ahoy!

Find me EVERYWHERE:




djc666
10/26/2006
10:50AM
Location
San antonio, Texas
I enjoyed this more than the new Trivium disc

Rick Gebhardt
10/26/2006
11:13AM
Age: 33
Location
Minnesota
djc666
I enjoyed this more than the new Trivium disc

Truth.

Find me EVERYWHERE:




Spikydrummerboy
05/31/2007
07:51AM
Location
Pennsylvannia
I couldn't really get into Trivium, but I like BFMV

because you take it, want it, need it forever
the more you take the effect gets better
which makes you need it to survive
killing yourself no need for knives