Silverstein - A Shipwreck In The Sand

Rating

single starsingle starsingle star

RIYL

Vanna
From First to Last
Hawthorne Heights

Release Date

04/07/2009

Tracklist

1. A Great Fire
2. Vices (Feat. Liam Cormier)
3. Broken Stars
4. American Dream
5. Their Lips Sink Ships
6. I Knew I Couldn't Trust You
7. Born Dead (Feat. Scott Wade)
8. A Shipwreck In The Sand
9. I Am The Arsonist
10. You're All I Have
11. We Are Not The World
12. A Hero Loses Everyday
13. The Tide Raises Every Ship
14. The End (Feat. Lights)

Users Rating

single starsingle starsingle star
13 ratings

Your Rating

Create an account or log in to rate this album

Recent Ratings

tim
single starsingle starsingle starsingle star

Silverstein can’t really seem to stick with one formula from one record to the next. It’s working for them, though. When they first started out with Whens Broken is Easily Fixed they had a strong Grade influence to their sound, which wasn’t surprising as they’re from the same town. With Discovering the Waterfront and Arrivals and Departures, the band explored a more middle of the road, marketable style of music. Whether this was intentional or not, no one will know, but the records were good.

Now they release A Shipwreck in The Sand, the heaviest album that they’ve put out. Pop undertones driven by powerful metal guitar lines run throughout the record. This group of Canadians can write some heavy, yet hook laden, tracks. The first two songs, “A Great Fire” and “Vices,” are some of the more metal infused tracks. After that it splits to an equal balance of soaring pop tracks (“Broken Stars” / “American Dream” / “I Knew I Couldn’t Trust You”) and heavier tracks (“Born Dead” / “I Am The Arsonist” / “We Are Not the World”). The power of Shane Told’s vocals is a steady force throughout both styles. Featuring guest vocals from Liam Cormier (of Cancer Bats) and Scott Wade (former singer of Comeback Kid - yes, the good one), the album is packed out with great vocal performances. Combined with the musical proficiency from the rest of the band, it’s a record worth checking out. When you toss in the bonus tracks, there are eighteen worthy tracks on this record.

The most disappointing parts of the album, however, are the production and the cliché nature of some of the tracks. With the financial backing of a label like Victory, a record should never have such poor sounding guitar production. When the band is in full force the guitars aren’t defined, they’re just white noise. The band would be best served by looking for a new producer in the future. There were also some parts of the album that just seemed to exist only for hook value, for example, the chorus structure of “American Dream”. There are some fantastic songs on this album, but unfortunately the production quality is a gigantic drawback for this release.

--Shane Matthew Stiles

Author

ShaneMatthew
Last updated: 09/29/2009 09:04PM

Comments

aaron
04/03/2009
10:29AM
Age: 32
Location
Atascadero, CA

good record. not great by any means.  and im sure the production failure should be put onto the producers shoulders, im sure Victory had more than enough money to put into this project and did since Silverstein is on one of the upper echelons of Victory as far as fanbase goes.  im not sure who produced this but it could have been so much better.

Decoymusic.com (CEO/Founder)
Blue Reef Design Studios (Web Development)
http://aarontroy.tumblr.com

Rick Gebhardt
04/03/2009
10:29AM
Age: 33
Location
Minnesota

Silverstein can’t really seem to stick with one formula from one record to the next.

Ummm... I kind of disagree with this statement... a lot :-)  To me, this band has pretty much stuck with the EXACT same formula album after album, but either increasing the amount of melody or heaviness included in their songs.  I've seen nearly no growth from album to album. 

Find me EVERYWHERE:




Rich
04/03/2009
10:40AM
Age: 28
Location
Leeds, England
Rick Gebhardt
Silverstein can’t really seem to stick with one formula from one record to the next.

Ummm... I kind of disagree with this statement... a lot :-)  To me, this band has pretty much stuck with the EXACT same formula album after album, but either increasing the amount of melody or heaviness included in their songs.  I've seen nearly no growth from album to album. 


Word.

Except their last album was epically shit. There's a few decent songs on their first two albums, but they're still really mediocre, and the production is always crappy on their albums. The clean vocals and mellower parts of this band are weak and don't seem to fit, to me.

snoopydogg
04/03/2009
10:41AM
Age: 30
Location
California

a 3?  this album is so much better than anything they have done before.  I would have to give it a 4 based upon them taking it up a notch on the heavy factor and well this is one band that can do no wrong in my eyes.  always an energetic live show as well as solid stage presence.  some bands just have zero presence so i have to give it to Silverstein.

Stinkypickle
04/03/2009
11:24AM

Never seen them live but I'll def jock this disc in my car

logan37
04/03/2009
04:01PM
Age: 23
Location
Toronto

more like a shipwreck in my ears amirite?

happyknappy11
04/03/2009
05:57PM
Location
Somewhere in New York
snoopydogg

a 3?  this album is so much better than anything they have done before.  I would have to give it a 4 based upon them taking it up a notch on the heavy factor and well this is one band that can do no wrong in my eyes.  always an energetic live show as well as solid stage presence.  some bands just have zero presence so i have to give it to Silverstein.

By far one of the worst live performances I'm experienced. Though they may be energetic and jump around a lot, they are sloppy in performance and the lead singer can't sing for shit live. This has atleast been my experience for the 3 times I've seen them.

"If someone gives you a kazoo and toots around the house to MTV, they're not gonna fuck you." - David Cross

tim
04/04/2009
08:49AM
Age: 31
Location
Green Brook, NJ

i thought this album was great. a lot better than their last one.

Jose Terrero
04/04/2009
04:42PM

The wheels are slowly coming off on this band. Sucks because they're awesome live and their 1st few albums showed some good potential.

benny06
04/06/2009
12:38PM
Age: 26
Location
Kansas

Seems like there are a lot of different views on this album....and this band for that matter.  I'd like to say that I have not fully enjoyed one of their albums.  Arrivals and Departures had a couple songs that got me, but it still didn't really hit me as something I enjoyed enough to continue listening to.  I've only listened to this album once through, and so far I'm going to continue to listen.  This is the best stuff they've done by FAR imo.

lpshinobi
04/12/2009
07:07PM
Age: 26
Location
VT

Average band releases average album and gets average score.  These guys need to work on the way their songs are arranged.  There are some sweet guitar parts all over the place, but they usually get stuck behind the boring vocals.

My Top Songs of '09
The Appleseed Cast//as the little things go
Caspian//sycamore
Sunwrae//Chinook Winds
Dredg//down to the seller
If These Trees Could Talk//the sun is in the north
From Monument to Masses//an ounce of prevention
Straylight Run//i'm through with the past


LpShinobi's Post-Rock and Shoegazing Recommendation, via YouTube

Lpshinobi's Post-Rock Band, New Song Posted